Writing: Anime Style!

anime-girl-headphones-writingIf you haven’t realized it yet, I’m a huge fan of anime (Japanese animation) and manga (Japanese comic books). The emotes I often use are Japanese ones like: ^_^ – smile, o_O – eyebrow raised, O_O – shocked, T_T -crying, >_> – looking off to the side/”erm”,  ^o^ – cheering/laughing, >_< – eyes closed shut/ouch, and many others. I like these emotes better as they’re more expressive and I’ve been using them since age 16 on AOL.

I’ve been watching anime and reading manga since age twelve. My first beloved anime was Sailor Moon. Over the years, my favorites became: Cowboy Bebop, Trigun, Ghost In The Shell, Fruits Basket, Darker Than Black, Eureka 7, Sword Art Online, Black Butler (Kuroshitsuji), Paranoia Agent, Samurai Champloo, Death Note, Fullmetal Alchemist, Blood+, Witch Hunter Robin, and all things Studio Ghibli. I’m sure there’s more that I’m neglecting to mention, but that’s just a list off the top of my head. ;^_^> (teardrop expression/”heh-heh”)

And it’s not only the animation of Japan that I admire, but the culture and all of their weird out-of-the-box entertainment. For a while, I did own Japanese swords  and I’m continually trying to learn the language… although I suck at it. And I take offense to the term “weeaboo”, as I’m not trying to be anyone other than myself. I simply admire Japan, as I admire a lot of different cultures from around the world. If anything, I’m a Anglophile (someone who’s obsessed with all things British), so there! :-P

Anyhoo, I’ve been writing ever since I was age six, but I’ve noticed years ago that my writing style began to have anime influences. Many of my friends often tell me, “Wow… your stories would make for a great manga!” I don’t purposely set out to write in this style, but I’ve seemed to acquired it over the many years.

agdrawingIn my early twenties, I had a wish to move to Japan and becoming a “mangaka”, which is an artist who writes and draws the Japanese comic books. However, try as I might, I am not any good with drawing. I have the stories, I can write well enough, but my drawings are as good as a ten year old’s. Oh well.

I seem to have the style of anime storytelling in everything that I write. My first publish book,True Shadows, is proof of that. The people I know who love anime bought my book and enjoyed it. However, it doesn’t seem to have any appeal to anyone else who’s not much of an anime fan. OR maybe I’m just a crap writer and that’s why it tanked. Either way, I’m glad that I gave it my best effort and I regret nothing. ^_^

I love anime so much because it’s visually beautiful. And the storytelling is so unique and epic. I’ve watched many cartoons as a kid, but I don’t dare to classify anime as a cartoon. No, never! The differences between American cartoons and anime is like comparing oranges to cabbages.

The stories and characters in anime affect me on a deeper level than any mere cartoon. I’ve cried and mourned for anime characters, felt disgusted and disturbed by others, and laughed hysterically over the situations of some. There is a point in viewing anime that I will forget that I’m watching something animated, as it feels as if I’m watching a sitcom with real live people acting out the parts. No cartoon has ever had that affect on me, only anime.

And if you think that’s silly, then I challenge you to watch “Grave Of The Fireflies”. If you don’t walk away from that in tears, then you’re a cold and unfeeling bastard. O_o
I saw the film once and can’t bring myself to ever watch it again. Those feels! Ugh! It’s too much!

ag_goodjI’m not sure if my writing style will ever change, although I try consciously to change it every time I do write. I’m all for reinventing myself and not getting stuck in one particular style forever. However, every time I’ve written a 90,000 word novel, I go back over it and realize, “Crap… I’ve written another manga series.” I guess it’s no use fighting it and I should own up to having this style with pride.

Besides anime, my inspirations within writing include: William Shakespeare, J.R.R, Tolkien, Charles Dickens, and Tom Wolfe’s use of the many exclamation marks!!!! I love to use a lot of them myself. ^_^

As long as I have eyes to see, I will keep writing whatever comes to my mind and heart. And if I should shy away from this blog someday, don’t worry, it means I am deeply committed to another novel in that moment. My current memory stick (USB) has over fifty novels stored on it, I have three boxes of hard-disks with stories on them, another memory stick that’s full of old story files, and ten printed manuscripts (before I owned a computer and used a typewriter).

These works may never see the light of day, as my younger stuff is hilariously bad with huge plot-holes, disconnected ideas, and heavily dated with street slang of the 80’s. My writings in my early twenties are highly naive in its views about the real world. My works in my mid to late twenties are better, but very rough around the edges. And I’m refining my writings more so in my 30’s.

My passion for writing is like fine wine, it gets better with age. I suspect that by the time I’m elderly, I’ll write a great American novel. Until then, I’m just going to enjoy my work to the fullest. ^_^

Thanks for reading!

-D

Leave a Reply

