DNA Testing And Me!

downloadI know, it’s a little ironic that I wrote a post about casting off labels and now I’m following up with a post about my genetic labeling. Hahahaha! I’m aware of the silliness of it, but this is kind of cool and I want to share! ^o^/

For those not following my Twitter (@NerdyGrlDani), recently I’ve been on a wild journey of DNA testing via the site: 23andMe. It was advertised by Neil deGrasse Tyson and co-host Chuck Nice, on my favorite science podcast StarTalk Radio. The test kit cost $99 (plus a few dollars for shipping. I paid $108.). It requires that you send in a spit sample via their kit and prepaid postage box.

I had an extra hundred dollars, a Christmas gift from my mother, so I decided that I would spend the money on science and discovering answers about my genealogy, instead of wasting it on video games. So far, it has been a very interesting ride!

I rather stay anonymous online about my majority race, I only feel it’s necessary to share that information with my close friends. However, I will share the  results of the small percentages of my genealogy on my public blog (you guys!). ^_^v

hetalia_mapMy ancestors have traveled around the world, A LOT, millions of years ago. And they have mated with a few different races, leaving  traces within my DNA today. 9.5% of my DNA is Northern European, 0.4% of that is specifically British and Irish, the rest is broadly European. I have a genetic trait of reddish hair (dark auburn), which 23andMe has informed me that this particular trait is from my European DNA

Another surprise is that I’m 0.7% East Asian. 0.5% is specifically Southeast Asian and the other 0.2% is Broadly East Asian. That’s highly fascinating! ^_^

I also discovered that my DNA has 0.9% of Neanderthal Ancestry. Before you began to laugh, everyone on the planet has Neanderthal Ancestry, some more so than others. My result is relatively low for the average site user of my particular race, so I’m happy with that result! ^o^/

steinsgate-05-rintarou-kurisu-lab_coatIf you’re interested in doing the test, I do warn that it does take a long wait before results are posted, so it requires a lot of patience.  Also, 23andMe is in a legal battle with the FDA, so they are no longer giving health information about your DNA (which they use to do).  The site does provide the raw data of your test, which you can submit to other sites to interpret your chances of gainig Alzheimer and so on, 23andme are still in court battles with the FDA to bring back that service to their site and they have recently won back a portion of the health test! However, they’re fighting to return every service back and it may a while … sigh… the FDA. u_u

Another feature they have is finding long lost relatives through DNA, which may be interesting to a lot of people. I’m not so interested in that part (my experience with my known relatives is that most of them SUCK SO MUCH!), but this could be a very awesome thing for others who were adopted or just looking to connect to more awesome relatives.

My overall rating for this site is 8/10. I think it was worth the money and better than any video game. My only complaint is that I had to find a Youtube video to figure out how to navigate the site, because it’s very complicated and it’s easy to miss key information available on your account, if you are new to the site and unfamiliar with its layout.

DeeDee-dexters-laboratory-13130724-445-393However, if you click everything and leave no link unchecked, you’re liable to get all of the information you seek. I had to fall into full “Dee Dee” mode and pushed ALL of the buttons in the lab, which resulted in discovering a pretty complete story of where my ancestors originated from, the paths they’ve traveled, their cultures, and how I came to be.

Thanks for reading! ^_^v

-D

4 thoughts on “DNA Testing And Me!”

  1. I am the family genealogist for my clan, and my paternal cousin did the Y-DNA – Ancestral Origins test. The result said “The R-M269 lineage is the descendant of the major R-M343 lineage. R-M269 likely originated in Eastern Europe. Your ancestral cousins eventually spread across the rest of Europe, with the highest concentrations of R-M269 found in the United Kingdom today.” This said, I am also descended from Niall of the Nine Hostages in Ireland. Cool! My big thing, however, is trying to figure out where the Keratoconus comes from, as it is supposedly genetic. Theoretically I must be related to everyone else with it.

    All my crazed comments aside, I just want to say “cool” about this post :)

    1. Awesome! Yes, I wondered which gene is responsible for my Keratoconus as well, although 23andMe has cease to provide medical information on their site, due to the FDA prohibiting that information. HOWEVER, I did upload my raw data to another site that does medical information here: https://promethease.com/ondemandagreed
      They provided medical data for each of my genomes on this site. I haven’t finished looking through it all, so I’m not sure yet which one of my genes is responsible for my eyesight issues, but I’m glad to learn that I have a low risk for most cancers and the gene that causes my red hair was said to be from Irish decent. That’s pretty cool, I think. :-)
      The site cost $5 to use, but I’d rate that it’s worth it. And you get to download your report to keep forever, so one doesn’t have to rush through the information… which I like a lot! I wish you luck on your genealogy hunting, my friend! It is an adventure for sure!

      1. Well, one thing at least: if we share a gene then somehow we are probably related, even if only very distantly. Interestingly also, you and I share Irish ancestry. But I also have Cornish ancestry and the other two families of Keratoconis sufferers that I know have Cornish ancestry. Do you have any of that?

      2. As far as I know, I don’t have Cornish, according to my partial DNA test. I haven’t done a full DNA test, just my maternal side, as a full test is much more pricier than I can afford. However, I can tell you that I do have British, Irish, East Asian (mostly Indonesia), and Guyana (South America) in my DNA results. And I have 1000 distant cousins within the 23andMe database, that are located all over the UK, a few in Germany, Guyana, one in Canada, one in the Ukraine, Dominican Republic, Mexico, Indonesia, and of course all over the US. In other words, my ancestors couldn’t stay still in one place and settled all over the world. It figures, as my family is very prone to wandering, often joining the military to do so. Sorry, I don’t mean to ramble! I love chatting about genealogy in general, because it’s DNA science! ;-)

Leave a Reply

