Update: I’m Ready!

Picture: Running late anime girl.This is just a quick little update, as I realized that I haven’t been blogging here for a few weeks now. I’ve been a bit preoccupied, to say the least. ^w^

Besides the rush of the holidays, I’ve been preparing for my eye surgery, which will happen in a couple of weeks.

Next week, I have an appointment to visit the Mayo Clinic for a pre-operation exam, just to make sure I’m healthy enough for surgery. I’m not worried at all, my doctor is certain that everything is fine, but it’s just a precaution.  After that week, I will have my surgery on February 2nd!

My therapist asked if I was feeling anxious about it, but honestly it’s the only thing in my life right now that I’m not feeling any anxiety about! I feel excited and hopeful, although it’s early yet, so I may feel nervous closer to the date or when I’m sitting in the operating chair.

From what Dr. Leo Maguire has explained to me, I will be placed in a special operating chair for this procedure and wheeled into the operating room. I will be given some anesthesia, although I will not wake up groggy or out of it, unlike from when I had an operation in autumn 2015 to remove my appendix. No, I didn’t blog about that, because it was highly gross! =p

Doctor Maguire said that he would pack my eye with a lot of pain-killers, so I will not experience terrible pain for three hours after the surgery, unlike my experience after my appendix surgery. And he has prescribed codeine for me, which is on standby for when I need it after surgery. So I’m prepared to manage my post-operation pain.

Picture: Laura Bodewig eyepatch.Meanwhile, I am to return to Mayo, the day after my surgery to make sure that it was a success and that there is no sign of rejection from the new cornea. The risk of that happening is very low, but one can’t be too careful about it. I will have to wear an eye-patch and use special anti-bacterial drops, after the surgery. And I will have to make several more trips back and forth to Mayo, to check the eye and remove stitches for the next four or so months.

That said, I may not be blogging or reading blogs for a while, as I recover. I will try to keep my manga blog updated: (Lonely Hunter, if anyone is actually reading it! lol), every Sunday as usual, but no promises!

I’ve finished creating the entire second arch of the series, which I had planned to begin sharing in February, but it’s unedited and it may take more time before I’m able to work on it again. I apologize to the TWO people, that I know for sure, who are reading it. LOL!

Picture: The white rabbit, alice in wonderland.So… this isn’t much of a post, I know, but I’m kind of pressed for time at the moment. “I’m very late indeed, Alice!” said the White Rabbit, “No time to say hello, goodbye! I’m late! I’m late! I’m late!”

However, I shall leave you with one of my favorite Doctor Who fmv (fan music video). I can’t remember if I’ve shared this one before, I apologize, if it’s a repeat, but it’s the theme on my mind right now. I love the Tenth Doctor and the song very much! Click here: Doctor Who: Handelbars.

Thanks for reading, as always! I’ll see you soon! Many hugs! ^_^v
-D

2 thoughts on “Update: I’m Ready!”

Leave a Reply

