The Reasons Why I Love Anime

Picture: anime - spike spiegel.I will attempt to explain my love affair of 23 years (ahem, obsessive addiction…) with anime, in a quickie “Musing” post.

Hoo-boy. I’m going to need a bigger coffee cup for this one. >_>

A straightforward explanation: I love the animation style, the stories, and the music soundtracks. The opening and ending sequences of most anime are beyond engaging, beautiful, haunting, and sparks my enthusiasm.

For example, here’s an opening credit to “Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood”. The song is titled “Again”. If you’re not an anime fan, do view the clip below, and then honestly tell me that you’re not the least bit curious to what the story may be. I challenge you! ^_^

That’s what I thought. ^w^

I’ve been in love with anime since age twelve, it started with an anime called: Sailor Moon. This was my gateway drug into my long time anime addiction, as I would enjoy watching Sailor Moon every morning before school. I had a major crush on the character Rei (aka: Sailor Mars) and I don’t understand why… she is really MEAN! o_o

If anything, Ami (Sailor Mercury) is more my type! =p

Yes, some anime are written specifically for children and pre-teens, however a lot of anime is not suitable for children whatsoever and are created for the older crowd. A parent would have to be pretty negligent to allow their young child to watch anime like: Vampire Knight, Neon Genesis Evangelion, Black Butler (Kuroshitsuji), Welcome to the N.H.K. and Durarara!!, just to name a very few. These anime have bold sexual themes/scenes and are very bloody… I mean, very very bloody.

Picture: Durarara - Shizuo.
Durarara: Shizuo often uses violence to express himself and to solve his problems. I LOVE him!

Even the ones I’ve mentioned are “tame” compared to how bloody and sexual some anime are. I’m looking at you, Elfen Lied and Kill La Kill! (Not literally. *shivers*).

Anime like Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood, Cowboy Bebop, Trigun, Death Note, Your Lie In April, and so on -although not sexually explicit,  are too complex in plot for young children to grasp. There are too many anime to watch in one lifetime and the genre is pretty broad in its target audience, from toddler to x-rated.

I love anime because I’m a sucker for a good story with strong and complex characters. I enjoy awesome music, artwork, and animation too. And this genre provides those things in one neat package.

Picture: Hetalia.

Thanks for reading! -_^v

-D

A quick shout-out to the new anime peeps I’ve met at: World Of Anime. ♥

14 thoughts on “The Reasons Why I Love Anime”

    1. Oh! I see! Yes… I’m not sure if I care to explain myself more so, but I think this is a pretty clear explanation for those who snub my love of anime and often grumble that it is just “kid stuff” or worse… “just cartoons.” >_>
      I could write a two thousand word post on this subject, easily, but I decided to keep it short and sweet this time. Besides, with stubborn people, you can shout at them until you’re blue in the face, and nothing will ever change their minds. LOL! I rather not waste my energy too much at shouting at brick walls. ^o^

  1. Thanks for sharing why you love anime. I’m in love with stories and anime is my current preferred method of consumption, but I’ll read or watch anything that has great characters or a good plot.

    1. Thanks for reading and commenting! ^_^
      I am the same way, anime is my most favorite method of consumption, because of the added artwork and animation. However, there’s plenty of television shows, books, and movies that I love as well. I’ve written about many of the other medias in my blog, but somehow forgot to mention my love of anime before this post. So, here it is. XD

  2. I have always loved anime. When young I watched every episode of Astroboy, Marine Boy, Prince Planet, Gigantor etc that I appeared on TV in Australia. Later I just adored Neon Genesis. Not to forget movies such as Howls Moving Castle and so on. Alas I don’t watch much now. Not sure why. Thanks for this post :)

    1. Cool! ^_^
      Yes, Neon Genesis is the most confusing anime ever, but I completely loved it. And anything from Studio Ghibli (like Howls Moving Castle) is an excellent pick. Mr. Miyazaki is a master storyteller!
      Right now, in what little free time I have today, I am watching a few episodes of “Attack On Titan”. It’s a very dark anime, certainty not for children, and I am loving every moment of it. Thanks for reading and commenting, Greg! ^_^

Leave a Reply

