I’m An Essay Writer

holo writingThis is not a surprise to anyone who follow my blog or has earned the misfortune of communicating with me privately in emails. I write essays, pure and simple, and I like to believe that I write them well enough. The topics of my blog ranges from my personal life experiences, to music, science, art, writing, anime, or anything else floating around in my brain at any particular moment.

The fact is, every blogger is an essay writer! I’d thought I would mention that, just in case you didn’t realize it before. ^w^

I do try to dabble as a novelist, however, I seem to gain the most success in writing personal essays. Not just in blogging, but this is the format that I write my therapy homework, emails, and forum posts in as well.

I’m always surprised to find that people are generally more interested in my daily musings or random thoughts, than they are in any of my well thought-out 90,000+ word fictional manuscripts. I’m very curious about why that is so, however this fact  alone is very flattering and humbling at the same time.

I don’t view myself to be very interesting – very complicated and eccentric, yes, but not all that impressive as a human being. So, I feel a lot puzzled as to why my subscriber count of this blog is 57 currently, when I simply write and share random thoughts in essay form. Does it really matter what I think about… well, anything?

I’m just one person among over 7 billion people on the planet. I haven’t cured cancer or done anything remotely brilliant to solve the world’s problems. I’m just one ordinary woman who’s trying her best to find happiness and her true place in this world. And I haven’t solved that equation, not by a long shot.

However, I do notice that my therapist seems to love my homework essays, and she seems to believe that I’m a great writer because of them. Granted, she’s never read any of my fictional works and her judgement is completely based on my essays, however it’s still a lot confusing to me that people enjoy my little rambles and random thoughts so much.

Confusing, but flattering all the same. I must be honest and confess that I do enjoy the compliments and it does encourages me to share more.

animethinkingI have been seeing my therapist for over two years now, and I have written fifteen (four to six pages each) single spaced essays for homework over the years. Many are painful accounts of my past, some are about which goals I wish to reach in the future, and every single one of them are raw expressions of what I truly think, feel, fear, want, or need.I guess the same can be said of this blog, in a way…

Although, I tend to edit and mull over my blogs before hitting the “publish” button. With my therapy essays, I don’t think about it, I just select “print” and bring the pages with me to my sessions.

It’s highly fascinating to me that my rambles are entertaining to others and sometimes aspiring (as this claim was made to me a few times).

However, I kind of understand the appeal a little, as I tend to watch/read many essays online by others.Today, I have enjoyed a video essay by “Nerdwriter1”: All Along The Watchtower, Explored. And I’m currently in the middle of reading Stephen King’s essay titled: Guns. It’s a very good essay at that!

I care to read, watch, and follow the essays of others for the sheer fact that I’m constantly seeking new information or a different point of view to ponder. I comment rarely, but when I do so, it because I’m hoping the author will expound further on their view. Either that, I’m just leaving well wishes or encouragement, in appreciation of the author affording me a new perspective to mull over.

And yet, it still alludes me as to why my scribbles would be any interest to anyone, besides to those closest to me. Really, I’m not that interesting! And god forbid if anyone actually takes any of my self-advice (“lessons”) to heart for themselves! My life is just one huge experiment, so my “lessons” aren’t proven or disproved just yet. It’s just an alpha-version of a thought! o_O

fruitsbasketshigure

Anyway… as always, thanks for reading! Have a good day, everyone! ^_*v

-D

2 thoughts on “I’m An Essay Writer”

  1. People like what people like and they obviously like your “scribbles”. :) BTW – that video essay on Dylan was brilliant. Thanks for sharing. :) I actually ended up putting a link to it on my Facebook to share with my friends :)

  2. Yep, I’ll never fully understand why, but I’m very flattered that people like my scribbles nonetheless!
    Oh, cool! I’m glad that you’ve enjoyed the link! I loved it enough to share on Facebook as well. Nerdwriter often has great essay videos in general. ^_^

Leave a Reply

